Three new members join NPR board of directors

Print More

NPR announced Wednesday the election of three new members to its board of directors and two reappointments to second terms.

Two station leaders take seats on the board: Joyce Slocum, president and c.e.o. of Texas Public Radio in San Antonio, and Jo Anne Wallace, v.p. and g.m. of radio at KQED in San Francisco.

Slocum has worked as NPR’s chief administrative officer and also served as interim president and c.e.o. for nine months in 2011.

Wallace served two consecutive terms on the NPR board, from 1998 to 2004, and was elected vice chair in her second term. She also serves on the board of the Station Resource Group.

The new members will begin their three-year terms at NPR’s next board meeting Nov. 4 and 5.

Fred Dust, a partner at the global design firm IDEO, was elected by the board as a public director. He fills a vacancy left by Patricia Diaz Dennis, who retired from the board earlier this year before her term’s November 2017 expiration.

According to a press release, Dust is “a leading voice and practitioner of human-centered design and networked innovation.”

Roger LaMay, g.m. of WXPN in Philadelphia, was elected to a second term on the board. John Wotowicz was elected to his second term as a public member.

Ten of the NPR Board’s 17 members are top executives at member stations and are elected by the network’s membership of station representatives. Five seats on the board are filled by public members elected by the board and confirmed by member stations. NPR’s president and the chair of the NPR Foundation each hold a seat as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *