Food shows produced for PBS, WHYY and WBEZ cited for excellence

Print More

Anthony Bourdain

Public broadcasters won four James Beard Foundation awards for outstanding food journalism.

The Restaurateur, a PBS documentary about New York restaurant impresario Danny Meyer, won as best TV special/documentary. It was produced by Roger Sherman of Florentine Films.

PBS’s The Mind of the Chef, hosted by Anthony Bourdain, won for on-location TV show, with Bourdain, Joe Caterini, Alexandra Chaden, Jonathan Cianfrani, Christopher Collins, Peter Meehan, Michael Steed and Lydia Tenaglia cited as producers.

Anthony Bourdain

Anthony Bourdain  (Photo: Zero Point Zero)

A Beard Award also went to WHYY in Philadelphia for “Art of Food,” a segment highlighting the local food industry. Produced by Monica Rogozinski for WHYY-TV’s Friday Arts program, it won the award for best television segment.

On the radio side, Fear of Frying, a program from WBEZ in Chicago that focuses on culinary nightmares, earned the radio show/audio webcast award for host Nina Barrett and producer Lynette Kalsnes.

Established in 1990, the James Beard Foundation awards also recognize outstanding restaurants and chefs in numerous categories and locales, cookbooks, restaurant design and print journalism. This year’s awards were presented May 6 at New York’s Lincoln Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *