White House cancels Obama nominations for CPB Board, FCC

Print More

President Trump has withdrawn two nominations for the CPB Board and one for the FCC.

Last fall President Obama nominated Brent Nelsen and David Arroyo, both previous CPB directors, to serve through 2020. The two were among 23 nominations withdrawn Tuesday.

Nelsen was initially confirmed in August 2013 for a term that expired in 2016.  He is a professor of political science at Furman University and chairs the South Carolina Educational Television Commission. On the CPB Board, Nelsen chaired the broadcast spectrum committee.

Arroyo was confirmed in September 2014 and served through 2016. He is SVP for legal affairs at Scripps Network Interactive. Arroyo served on the board’s audit and finance, broadcast spectrum and corporate governance committees.

The White House has not contacted CPB about any new nominations, corporation spokesperson Leticia King told Current.

Trump also withdrew the nomination for FCC Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel, who was confirmed in 2012 under Obama. Her term expired in July 2015, but she remained on the FCC through last December awaiting confirmation for a second term.

2 thoughts on “White House cancels Obama nominations for CPB Board, FCC

  1. Excellent. For too long the CPB has ignored or paid lip service to the statutory requirements:

    (A) facilitate the full development of public telecommunications in which programs of high quality, diversity, creativity, excellence, and innovation, which are obtained from diverse sources, will be made available to public telecommunications entities, with strict adherence to objectivity and balance in all programs or series of programs of a controversial nature;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *