Anthony Padgett will leave SCETV to lead WOSU Public Media

Print More

Anthony Padgett will be GM of WOSU Public Media in Columbus, Ohio.


Padgett is leaving his role as president and CEO of South Carolina ETV, a state network that also operates public radio stations. His last day with SCETV will be March 3, according to an SCETV spokesperson.

Padgett’s first day at WOSU will be March 6. He succeeds Ronnie Agnew, who left the station after leading WOSU for less than a year to become GM for NJ Advance Media.

The Ohio State University, which owns WOSU, noted in a news release that Padgett will be “the new Thomas Rieland Endowed General Manager.” The title refers to the leader who preceded Agnew.

“I am honored to be joining the team at WOSU and excited about the opportunity to build upon the station’s legacy of impact and service,” Padgett said in the news release. “I believe this is a transformational time for public media and that we at WOSU can enhance the lives of those we serve like never before.”

Padgett has led SCETV since 2017. Before that, he worked as COO of Georgia Public Broadcasting; SVP of content and operations for WJCT in Jacksonville, Fla.; and chief engineer for independent television station WEFS in Cocoa, Fla.

“Anthony is an energetic and exciting public media leader with an extremely broad base of experience in digital media innovation, content development and inclusivity in program engagement,” said Betsy Pandora, board president for Friends of WOSU.

Padgett was recently elected to the board of trustees for America’s Public Television Stations. He has also served on the boards of the National Educational Telecommunications Association, the Public Media Business Association, Greater Public and American Public Television. He also helped create the Public Media Diversity Leaders Initiative, offered by SCETV and Furman University’s Riley Institute.

NETA Consulting conducted the national search for WOSU’s next leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *