Senate confirms three appointments to CPB board

Print More

CPB/Getty Images

Sembler, Rothman and Ross

The full Senate approved Thursday three of President Joe Biden’s four nominees to serve on CPB’s board of directors.


The confirmed members are Laura Gore Ross, Elizabeth Sembler and Tom Rothman.

Biden’s fourth nominee is Kathy Im, director of journalism and media for the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. Im has also been a board member for Media Impact Funders and the Center for Asian American Media, which receives support from CPB. ​​Her nomination is on the Senate calendar for Monday.

Sembler, a retired educator and administrator, most recently worked as director of engagement at Congregation B’nai Israel in St. Petersburg, Fla. She served on CPB’s board of directors from 2008–2020 and was board chair from 2014–16.

Sembler has also been a board chair for WEDU PBS in Tampa, Fla., and was a board member for America’s Public Television Stations.

Rothman is chairman and CEO of Sony Pictures Entertainment’s motion picture group, where he oversees all of the studio’s worldwide businesses, including Columbia Pictures. Rothman previously worked as chairman and CEO of Fox Filmed Entertainment.

Earlier in his career, Rothman was president of worldwide production for the Samuel Goldwyn Company and EVP for Columbia Pictures.

Ross, a current board member, joined CPB’s board in 2018 and was reelected vice chair last year.

She previously worked as chief of staff to the attorney general for the state of New York and was a trustee for the WNET Group in New York.

This story has been updated to reflect the nominees’ confirmation by the full Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *