Pubcasters take home regional Emmys, and more awards in public media

Print More


Nova's "Zeppelin Terror Attack" won an award at the Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival. (Photo: WGBH)

Nova’s “Zeppelin Terror Attack” won an award at the Wyoming event. (Photo: WGBH)

Three programs that will run on PBS in the next year were recognized at the Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival. Your Inner Fish, a three-part series on evolution produced by Tangled Bank Studios and Windfall Films for PBS, won two awards: best biological/life sciences program and best limited series. David Dugan, who wrote the series, won an award for best writing.

Earth: A New Wild, a program set to debut on PBS next year, won an award for best environmental and conservation sciences program. The series is produced for PBS by National Geographic TV and Passion Planet.

“Zeppelin Terror Attack,” a Nova/WGBH documentary about Germany’s bombing of London in World War I, won for best technological sciences program.


Mid-Atlantic Region

WQED in Pittsburgh took home four statuettes at the Mid-Atlantic regional Emmy awards ceremony Sept. 20.

Portraits For the Home Front: The Story of Elizabeth Black, a documentary about a sketch artist who drew portraits of American soldiers to send to their families during World War II, won in the arts program or special category. Change of Habit, a special about the dwindling number of nuns in America, won best human interest program or special, and Memories from the Table, a documentary about food and family, won best lifestyle program or special.

WQED also won a community service award for its multimedia project Gun Violence: Victims & Voices for Change.

Philadelphia’s WHYY won two Emmys. The station won best entertainment special for On Canvas: Melissa Etheridge and best education feature or segment for Art of Food: Fresh Palates to Palettes, a story about a charter school arts program.

PCK Media, which produces State of the Arts NJ for public TV, won an Emmy for best arts/entertainment feature or segment for its story “Guthrie at Greystone,” about Woody Guthrie’s stint in a psychiatric hospital.

Mark Stitzer of Penn State Public Media received an Emmy for best program photographer.

Upper Midwest Division

Twin Cities Public Television won 16 Emmys in the Upper Midwest regional ceremony, the second most of any network.

Twin Cities’ program Almanac at the Capitol, which covers the Minnesota state legislature, won for best politics/government program, and host Mary Lahammer was one of three recipients who tied for best program host or moderator. Farm Fresh Road Trip, also hosted by Lahammer, won the Emmy for best lifestyle program or special.

Two of Twin Cities’ Emmys were in documentary categories: The Past is Alive Within Us: The U.S.-Dakota Conflict won for best historical documentary, and Media Coverage and Female Athletes won for best sports documentary.

The Lowertown Line, a concert and interview show, won for best arts and entertainment program for an episode about musician Chastity Brown. The station’s coverage of the Minnesota Dance Theatre won the Emmy for best magazine story, and its Christmas special Christmas in Norway with the St. Olaf Choir won for best special event coverage other than news and sports.

Four of Twin Cities’ Emmys were for single stories:

  • “Evolution of Stash Records,” for best historic/cultural/nostalgic story;
  • “An Artist’s Mission in His Own Words,” for best interview/discussion story;
  • A profile of Brian Hart for best arts/entertainment story; and
  • “Andrew Moxom’s Timeless Portraits,” for best informational/instructional story.

In addition to Lahammer, four other staffers at Twin Cities received individual craft awards. Phillip Byrd won for best director of a live event for “Christmas in Norway,” Brennan Vance won for best photographer, Adam Geiger won for best editor of a non-news program, and David Gillette won the Emmy for on-camera commentator or editorialist for his series Illustrated Essays.

Four other public broadcasters won Emmys in the Upper Midwest region:

  • Minnesota Public Radio News for best politics/government story for the explainer “Choo Choo Bob Explains the Southwest Light Rail Line Conundrum”;
  • Pioneer Public TV in Appleton, Minn., for best topical documentary for “Haiti Love”;
  • Iowa Public Television for teen coverage for “Teen Spotlight #MusicalTheater”; and
  • KSMQ in Austin, Minn., for best historic/cultural/nostalgic program for The Typist.
Mid-America Chapter

Public broadcasters took home seven awards from the NATAS Mid-America Emmy Awards, with Kansas City, Mo., station KCPT taking the lead.

KCPT tied with commercial stations for first place in the informational/instructional feature segment and interview/discussion categories. Producer Mark Stamm won in both categories for his work on Enrollment Day: A KCPT Health Care Event and Meet the Past: Tom Bass. KCPT also received an award in the lifestyle program – feature/segment category for Ferment Nation: Wine Is Weird.

Nine Network in St. Louis and Arkansas Educational Television Network brought home two awards each. AETN’s Gabe Mayhan won in the documentary category for best cinematography, and the network won for best cultural documentary. Both awards were for Champion Trees, a film about giant trees in Arkansas and people who take care of them.

And Nine Network won in the specialty assignment – program/special category for Open for Business, a report on the Health Insurance Marketplace.

Nine Network President Jack Galmiche, won a Special Achievement Community Service Emmy in recognition of the station’s leadership on a local American Graduate: Let’s Make It Happen initiative.


Eligio Cedeno, CEO of Vme TV, was honored as the 2014 Businessman of the Year by the U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Vme is the only national Spanish-language network associated with public TV. Cedeno took over leadership of Vme in 2013 and has worked to grow the network, which is currently carried by PBS stations in 43 markets. Cedeno accepted the award at the USHCC National Convention Sept. 23.


Charlie Rose will receive the National Building Museum’s 2014 Vincent Scully Prize at a reception Nov. 19.

Rose, who has dedicated several episodes of his interview show to architecture and city design, said when the award was announced that he is passionate about architecture. At the reception, he will be interviewed by Kurt Andersen, host of public radio’s Studio 360.


Joanne Rogers accepted the WQED Changing Lives Award on behalf of her late husband Fred Rogers at the Pittsburgh station’s annual meeting Oct. 9.

This is the second year that WQED has given the award, which recognizes contributions to changing lives and encouraging lifelong communication. Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, which Fred Rogers hosted for 31 seasons, was first produced by WQED in 1966.


Public media organizations ProPublica and WNYC received four honors at the Front Page Awards, given by a professional organization for newswomen.

A senior reporter at ProPublica, Julia Angwin, won Newswoman of the Year for her coverage of the National Security Agency.

Another ProPublica reporter, Megan McCloskey, won the Online – In-Depth Reporting category for “Failing the Fallen,” a series of articles about the Pentagon’s efforts to deal with soldiers missing in action.

For Radio – Feature, WNYC won for “My Detainment Story or: How I learned to Stop Feeling Safe in My Own Country and Hate Border Agents.” For Radio – In-Depth, a team from WNYC and New Jersey Public Radio received an award for a series of reports about New Jersey Governor Chris Christie and his use of power.

The Front Page Awards recognize high-quality journalism from newswomen in radio, television, newspapers, photography, magazines, wire services and online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *