Eight station candidates seek election to NPR Board

Print More

The election to fill four member-director positions on NPR’s board is underway, with nine candidates vying for the seats.

Voting for the seats started July 11 and will run through Aug. 11. The winners start three-year terms in November.

For what is believed to be the first time, a candidate was put on the ballot by gathering petition signatures from NPR’s Authorized Representatives. Candidates are usually selected by a nominating committee headed up by the chair of NPR’s board.

But under NPR’s bylaws, candidates can also be added to the ballot by a written petition signed by at least 15 A-Reps. Mike Savage, g.m. at WBAA in West Lafayette, Ind., secured enough signatures to make this year’s ballot.

According to NPR, the other candidates are:

  • Mike Crane, WHA-AM, Madison, Wis.
  • Charlie Kravetz, WBUR, Boston
  • Paul Maassen, WWNO, New Orleans
  • Caryn Mathes, KUOW, Seattle (incumbent, standing for re-election)
  • Florence Rogers, KNPR, Las Vegas (incumbent, standing for re-election)
  • Stephen Schram, WUOM, Ann Arbor, Mich.
  • Norm Silverstein, WXXI, Rochester, N.Y.

Bill Davis, president of Southern California Public Radio, is also on the ballot but is not seeking election. Under NPR’s bylaws, votes for him will not be considered.

Correction: An earlier version of this story incorrectly reported that Davis was an incumbent director. Davis has served on the board but is not an incumbent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *