Fanning will get Lifetime Achievement Emmy during ceremonies this fall

Print More

Frontline creator and Executive Producer David Fanning will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Arts and Sciences at the news and documentary Emmy Awards on Oct. 1, the academy announced today.

“David Fanning has guided Frontline to the pinnacle of public affairs television,” said Malachy Wienges, academy chair, in the announcement. David Winn, director of the news and documentary Emmys, praised the program’s “decades-long commitment to journalistic excellence, integrity, and independence.”

Past Lifetime Achievement Emmy Award recipients include Bill Moyers, Ken Burns, Tom Brokaw and Barbara Walters.

Fanning spoke to Current in May about his long career and the future of the program, now in its 30th year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *