Public TV shows garner 14 Daytime Emmys; Sesame Street scores six

Print More

Programs on public television received 13 creative arts honors and one broadcast statuette in Daytime Emmy Award ceremonies Friday and Sunday in Los Angeles.

One of six Emmys for Sesame Street went to Kevin Clash for his role as Elmo, which he left last year after allegations of sexual impropriety. He was also recognized in two other categories as part of larger directing and producing teams on the program.

Joseph Rosendo wears a gho, the traditional native dress for men in Bhutan, to attend a festival in the Southeast Asian country. (Photot: Julie Rosendo)

During a Travelscope episode in Bhutan, host and director Joseph Rosendo wears a gho, the traditional native garb for men in the Southeast Asian country.  (Photo: Julie Rosendo)

Four programs distributed by American Public Television scored honors: Lidia’s Italy for culinary host (Lidia Bastianich), Joseph Rosendo’s Travelscope for direction in a lifestyle/culinary program (Joseph Rosendo, director) and sound mixing, live action (Jason Grigg, audio mixer); Biz Kid$ for single-camera editing (Alex Carrillo and Jim Golingo, editors) and Equitrekking for single camera photography, film or electronic (Greg Barna, director of photography).

Word Girl, a PBS Kids program, won for animation writing (Tom Martin and Eric Shaw, head writers; Jack Ferraiolo, Jayne Hamil and Ryan Raddatz, writers).

Leeza Gibbons also won as host in a lifestyle/travel program for My Generation, an AARP production that runs on public television stations.

Public TV programs also endured losses in children’s programming. For best children’s series, R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series on the Hub network, which replaced Discovery Kids. bested PBS’s SciGirls; in the children’s animated program category, WordGirl failed to top Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness on Nickelodeon; and Dinosaur Train lost to Bubble Guppies, another Nickelodeon show.

But the big winner in children’s shows was Sesame Street. Its other Emmys were awarded for preschool children’s series (Carol Lynn Parente, executive producer, Clash,co-executive producer;Nadine Zylstra, supervising producer; Tim Carter, senior producer; April Coleman, coordinating producer; Benjamin Lehmann, producer; and Stephanie Longardo; line producer), directing in a children’s series (Ken Diego, Kevin Clash, Joey Mazzarino and Matt Vogel, directors), writing in a children’s series (Joey Mazzarino, head writer; Molly Boylan, Annie Evans, Christine Ferraro, Emily Perl Kingsley, Luis Santeiro, Ed Valentine, Belinda Ward and John Weidman, writers); main title and graphic design (Rickey Boyd, creative director; Michael Lapinski, art director; Rhea Borzak, compositor; Andrew Atteberry, 3D animator; and Julian Herrera, VFX supervisor) and multiple camera editing (Todd James and Tim Carter, supervising editors; Jesse Averna and John Tierney, editors).

A full list of all creative arts Emmys, which recognize behind-the-camera accomplishments, and broadcast awards is online at the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *