AETN and KOMU win three regional Emmys apiece, leading pubTV stations

Print More

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN), based in Conway, won three Emmys for “Clean Lines, Open Spaces: A View of Mid-Century Modern Architecture,” a doc that explored mid-century modern architecture through a regional lens of the American South. The program was named best cultural documentary, and Mark Wilcken received individual awards for writing and editing. “I love these old mid-century modern buildings, and I’m glad I had a chance to explain what they are, where they came from and why they are important,” said Wilcken.

Two of three Emmys won by KOMU in Columbia, Mo., went to Sarah Hill and Scott Schaefer for news stories in the historical/cultural (“Concentration Camp Wedding Dress”) and human interest (“Baby Chloe’s Diamond in the Sky”) categories. In addition, KOMU’s Hill, Nathan Higgins, Jennifer Reeves, Stacey Woelfel and Lindsey Tyler received Emmys for interactivity with “Live Cyber Shave.”

The Nine Network of Public Media in St. Louis received an Emmy for special achievement in community service for its live broadcast of “American Graduate Teacher Town Hall.” Nine Network producer Jim Kirchherr won a Presidential Emmy in recognition of his five years (2007–2011) as president of the Mid-America Chapter.

KCPT in Kansas City also won a pair of Emmys for special events coverage (produced by Angee Simmons, Randy Mason and Mark Stamm) and for community/public service (Simmons, Jim Button).

The NATAS Mid-America chapter includes TV markets in Missouri, Arkansas, Illinois and surrounding DMAs. The awards were presented Sept. 22 in Kansas City, Mo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *