MMG honors WFYI’s Wright; elects new board leadership, members

Print More

Public television’s Major Market Group has presented its 2012 William Kobin Public Television Leadership Award to Lloyd Wright, president of WFYI Public Media in Indianapolis.


The MMG, a consortium of 34 pubTV stations in the nation’s largest broadcast markets, met for its annual meeting Oct. 1 and 2 in Arlington, Va.

Wright has led WFYI for more than 23 years, and was recently re-elected to his fourth term on the PBS Board of Directors. For the past two years he’s also served as chair of the MMG’s Board of Directors. The award was established to honor Bill Kobin, among the first producers of national content for National Educational Television (NET), the forerunner of PBS. Kobin also headed stations in Minneapolis and Los Angeles and spent 14 years leading MMG until his retirement in 2011.

New chair of the MMG Board of Directors is Jack Galmiche, president, Nine Network of Public Media, St. Louis. New vice chair is Rick Schneider, president, WPBT, Miami. Incoming board members are Jon Abbott, president, WGBH, Boston; Bill Marrazzo, president, WHYY, Philadelphia; and Neal Shaprio, president, WNET, New York City. Leaving the board are Doug Price, president, Rocky Mountain PBS, Denver; and Don Boswell, president, WNED, Buffalo, N.Y.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *