PubTV, radio rake in Peabody Awards

Print More

Pubcasters won 18 of the 39 George Foster Peabody Awards announced this morning by the University of Georgia. PBS led the field of 2010 Peabody winners with ten awards — two of which were presented to American Masters, the documentary series produced by New York’s WNET.

Four Peabodys awarded to NPR honor international and investigative reporting, including a collaboration with Youth Radio and the Huffington Post. Three additional winners for pubradio were RadioLab, The Promised Land, and The Moth Radio Hour.

Two docs produced by or in collaboration with local stations — “Lucia’s Letter” from WGCU-FM in Fort Myers, Fla., and “The Lord is Not on Trial Here Today,” by Jay Rosenstein Productions and WILL-TV in Urbana, Ill. — also earned Peabody distinction.

The University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication presents the annual Peabody Awards, one of the oldest and most prestigious prizes in electronic media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *