FCC announces final station DTV transition dates

Print More

The FCC has released its list of stations terminated digital service on or before the June 12 deadline. Of PBS stations, 125 will transition on June 12. Of those switching before that deadline, 14 will do so this month, 37 in April, six in May and one on June 10 — that’s KRWG in Las Cruces, N.M. Why? Because June 12 is a Friday. “The regular phones aren’t manned over the weekend,” Glen Cerny, director of broadcasting, told Current. “We felt it was important to be here when we turned off the analog for any calls. I talked to our engineers, and we just thought it better to be here. Just to reduce that anxiety.” Here’s the FCC list of stations transitioning on June 12, and those going before. (Both are PDFs.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *