Three new CPB Board members, one gets a new term; Halpern doesn’t

Print More

Democratic senators may have ended, perhaps temporarily, Republican member Cheryl Halpern‘s stint on the CPB Board. The Senate yesterday confirmed the three new White House nominees to the board and one reappointment, retired Sen. David Pryor (D-Ark.). They were confirmed unanimously by the Senate Commerce Committee, and Senate leaders put them in a large package of generally noncontroversial unanimous-consent items put forth for quick passage yesterday as Congress moves toward adjournment, says a committee source. But Halpern, successor of ex-Chair Ken Tomlinson, got two nay votes along with 18 thumbs up–from committee Chair Daniel Inouye (Hawaii) and a senior member, Byron Dorgan (N.D.)–and was left out of the package. Appointed for three years are Elko, Nev., radio journalist Loretta Cheryl Sutliff (Lori Gilbert on the air) and Elizabeth Sembler, APTS Board member associated with WEDU in Tampa. Named for five years were Pryor and Bruce M. Ramer, Hollywood entertainment attorney and longtime KCET Board member. More on the board newcomers here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *