Walker saluted with Murrow Award

Print More

Laura Walker, president of WNYC, is this year’s recipient of the Edward R. Murrow Award, CPB announced today. “Her creativity and willingness to take risks have made WNYC one of the foremost radio stations in the country,” said CPB President Patricia Harrison. In her 11 years there, the station bought its freedom from the city government, launched Studio 360, On the Media, Radio Lab and The Takeaway, among other national programs, and last month moved into a new home [New York Times story] outside of the city’s municipal building, where it operated 84 years. [Current feature on Walker, 2004.]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *