President Biden nominates three directors for CPB board

Print More

CPB/MacArthur Foundation/Getty Images

Sembler, Im and Rothman

President Joe Biden has nominated three people to serve on CPB’s board of directors.

The nominees are Elizabeth Sembler, Kathy Im and Tom Rothman. They will join the board if confirmed by the U.S. Senate. CPB’s board has four vacant seats.

Sembler, a retired educator and administrator, most recently worked as director of engagement at Congregation B’nai Israel in St. Petersburg, Fla. She served on CPB’s board of directors from 2008–2020 and was board chair from 2014–16.

Sembler has also been a board chair for WEDU PBS in Tampa, Fla., and was a board member for America’s Public Television Stations.

Im manages a $25 million annual portfolio as director of journalism and media for the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. Im is a member of the board of jurors for the Peabody Awards and a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

She has also been a board member for Media Impact Funders and the Center for Asian American Media, which receives support from CPB.

Rothman is chairman and CEO of Sony Pictures Entertainment’s motion picture group, where he oversees all of the studio’s worldwide businesses, including Columbia Pictures. Rothman previously worked as chairman and CEO of Fox Filmed Entertainment.

Earlier in his career, Rothman was president of worldwide production for the Samuel Goldwyn Company and EVP for Columbia Pictures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *