President Obama chooses SCETV chair as third nomination to CPB Board

Print More

President Barack Obama on Thursday nominated Brent Nelsen, a political science professor at Furman University in Greenville, S.C., to a term on the CPB board expiring in January 2016.

Nelsen would replace former Vice Chair Gay Hart Gaines, an interior designer and civic activist whose term expired in 2010.

He is chair of the Educational Television Commission, which oversees SCETV in South Carolina.

This is the president’s third recent CPB nomination. In February, he selected Los Angeles attorney Bruce Ramer to serve another term, and chose educator Jannette Lake Dates to replace former Board Chair Ernest Wilson, whose term expired in 2010.

All nominations are sent to the Senate for confirmation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *