Scripps Howard Awards include pubmedia journalists

Print More

Several public-media reporters are winners of the annual Scripps Howard Awards, recognizing excellence across multiple platforms. Journalists from California Watch and the Center for Investigative Reporting won the Roy W. Howard Award for public service reporting, and $10,000, for “On Shaky Ground,” a 19-month investigation exposing flaws in seismic safety compliance and oversight at public schools; Paul Kiel and Olga Pierce of ProPublica won the William Brewster Styles Award for business and economics reporting, along with $10,000, for exposing the failure of industry and government responses to the foreclosure crisis; and Dan Grech and Kenny Malone of WLRN and The Miami Herald won the Jack R. Howard Award for radio reporting and $10,000 for “Neglected to Death,” a series that uncovered abuse and neglect within Florida’s assisted living industry. A list of all winners is here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *