Cochran, Blumenauer named Champions of Public Broadcasting

Print More

Two longtime pubcasting congressional advocates, Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) and Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.), will receive this year’s Champion of Public Broadcasting awards from the Association of Public Television Stations, it announced today (April 1). The annual honors are presented to members of Congress and other individuals who have had a “tremendous impact on the ability of local public broadcasting stations to meet the most critical needs of the communities they serve,” APTS said.

Previously, APTS had praised Cochran for his support for station financial stabilization funds in 2009 (Current, Dec. 14, 2009) and he also received the Ralph Lowell Award, public television’s highest honor, in 2000 from CPB.

Blumenauer lead the charge for public broadcasting in the recent House battles over funding, sponsoring an amendment to salvage the CPB outlay in a Continuing Resolution. The amendment was defeated just before midnight on Feb. 16.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *