Pubcasters win 14 Peabody Awards

Print More

Of the 35 George Foster Peabody Awards announced today, 14 went to programs produced and/or aired by public broadcasters. Winners, chosen by the Peabody Board as the best of electronic media in 2007 include: Design Squad, a reality TV show of engineering challenges for older kids; The MTT Files, a pubradio series featuring San Francisco Symphony Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas; and Just Words, created by former WYPR-FM host Marc Steiner to bring the voices of Baltimore’s most under-privileged citizens to the air. Three of PBS’s winning programs, including Design Squad, were produced by Boston’s WGBH.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *