Carnegie I: Membership, preface of report, 1967

The Carnegie Commission on Educaational Television, a 15-member panel created in 1965 by a major foundation, the Carnegie Corporation of New York, released its report, Public Television: A Program for Action, on Jan. 26, 1967. Carnegie I popularized the phrase “public television” and assisted a legislative campaign for federal aid to the field. (Public radio was added later by Congress.) See also the the Summary of recommendations. Members of the Commission
James B. Conant, Former President, Harvard University
Lee A. DuBridge, President, California Institute of Technology
Ralph Ellison, Author
John S. Hayes, United States Ambassador to Switzerland
David D. Henry, President, University of Illinois
Oveta Culp Hobby, Chairman of the Board, Houston Post Company
J.C. Kellam, President, Texas Broadcasting Corporation
Edwin H. Land, President, Polaroid Corporation
Joseph H. McConnell, President, Reynolds Metals Company
Franklin Patterson, President, Hampshire College
Terry Sanford, Former Governor of North Carolina
Robert Saudek, Robert Saudek Associates, Inc.
Rudolph Serkin, Concert Pianist
Leonard Woodstock, Vice President, United Automobile Workers of America
James R. Killian, Jr., Chairman [of the Commission and] Chairman of the Corporation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
This Report of the Carnegie Commission on Educational Television is addressed to the American people.

Terry Gross: engaged with subject and listeners

Terry Gross is interviewing the actor Dustin Hoffman. He is about to launch what is probably a set piece about his work with Mike Nichols on The Graduate, an obligatory story in most of his interviews. She knows this, having set up the subject. She also knows it is a story the audience may have heard before. He explains that Nichols offered him three pieces of advice.